Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Why drink coconut milk? You’re not a coconut…

IMG_0414.JPG
I used to drink a lot of cows milk. My mum always made sure I had it available. It was the only drink that seemed to quench my thirst for so many years. There are a myriad of sweet, creamy desserts and accompaniments made of milk that I enjoyed.

I was brought with the best possible, I never went hungry and mum always cooked for us all or we could help ourselves. I was lucky. I still am. My mum really makes an effort to look after me, even with my changes.
In the last few years I have changed my diet, mainly because I had some underlying health issues, which I wanted to address and I felt that they might be linked to food, because a lot of the feelings and symptoms I seemed to get, happened when or after I ate. I’m not going to go into too much detail and I am not a health practitioner, I am just sharing with you my lifestyle choices, because they may be of interest to some. All I know, is that I cut eggs, dairy and meat from my diet and my issues stopped. I do suffer occasionally, because I give in to my habits and ‘cravings’ for comfort eating, but I always realise afterwards the damage caused. One day I will be able to eat the food exactly right for me.

I would rather show you alternatives to the cows milk, because there are plenty of sources regarding our consumption of it, from health professionals and experts to show that it might not be as good for us as all those adverts would have us believe. After I started investigating the health benefits of cutting down on these foods, I came across the ethical implications of this mass production of cows milk and other animal products.

I don’t really want to debate the mass production of animal produce and in my opinion, the unnecessary need for meat at every meal. I have just found ways to remain healthy and feel good. That is, predominantly plant based.

I was thinking about all this when I was drinking my coconut shake this morning. It’s coconut water, coconut flesh and a little ice. It turns out like a creamy milkshake like texture when blended. Similarly, another favourite of mine is banana shake, a few bananas, dates and enough water to make a good consistency.

Nut milks and seed milks are nutritious and have health benefits that in my opinion, outweigh hose that are traditionally associated with dairy.
It is difficult when surrounded by dairy products, especially when they have direct habit and comfort links to childhood comforts and when these ‘free from’ and whole products are given a higher price tag. It doesn’t seem right or fair to me that a family should have to choose what could potentially be the more unhealthy option, just because of budget. How clever and convenient for the dairy industry bosses.

We have also been told public facts in marketing about dairy, regarding its calcium content being high, yet nothing about the risks of osteoporosis, anaemia and iron deficiencies.

I’m not telling people what to eat, I’m just giving my opinion, and the suggestion that, with a little research, alternatives can be found, even if they are once or twice a week. With this much information now at our fingertips, there is no need to make uninformed choices anymore. We are free to decide, without blindly accepting every piece of information fed to us by profit hungry multi million pound industries.

The implications of us eating less animal products would of course affect them the most, so they will try whatever they can to convince us otherwise.

This isn’t just milk from a cow in our back garden, it isn’t like that anymore. A cow should not produce milk in the quantities they do it is not natural.

Here is how milk is mass produced
Here is what is in the mass produced dairymilk we drink
Here is what milk can do to our bones
Here is some nut and seed milk info
Here is a link to plant based calcium sources
Here is an opinion on eating less animal products

5 Responses

  1. Great post with interesting content
    I am looking forward for more!
    Best wishes, R

    http://ramonacrisstea.wordpress.com


  2. I totally agree with you πŸ‘ I did a whole research about dairy, I added the link in case you are interested to read it😊 http://missdn.com/healthy-living-2/milk-blessing-or-curse-milch-fluch-oder-segen/


  3. Kindred spirits….been living a vegetarian lifestyle for more than 15 years and few years back, adopted the Vegan way, because of the very problems you mentioned. I posted some health tips you might be interested in too πŸ™‚



Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Why drink coconut milk? You’re not a coconut…

IMG_0414.JPG
I used to drink a lot of cows milk. My mum always made sure I had it available. It was the only drink that seemed to quench my thirst for so many years. There are a myriad of sweet, creamy desserts and accompaniments made of milk that I enjoyed.

I was brought with the best possible, I never went hungry and mum always cooked for us all or we could help ourselves. I was lucky. I still am. My mum really makes an effort to look after me, even with my changes.
In the last few years I have changed my diet, mainly because I had some underlying health issues, which I wanted to address and I felt that they might be linked to food, because a lot of the feelings and symptoms I seemed to get, happened when or after I ate. I’m not going to go into too much detail and I am not a health practitioner, I am just sharing with you my lifestyle choices, because they may be of interest to some. All I know, is that I cut eggs, dairy and meat from my diet and my issues stopped. I do suffer occasionally, because I give in to my habits and ‘cravings’ for comfort eating, but I always realise afterwards the damage caused. One day I will be able to eat the food exactly right for me.

I would rather show you alternatives to the cows milk, because there are plenty of sources regarding our consumption of it, from health professionals and experts to show that it might not be as good for us as all those adverts would have us believe. After I started investigating the health benefits of cutting down on these foods, I came across the ethical implications of this mass production of cows milk and other animal products.

I don’t really want to debate the mass production of animal produce and in my opinion, the unnecessary need for meat at every meal. I have just found ways to remain healthy and feel good. That is, predominantly plant based.

I was thinking about all this when I was drinking my coconut shake this morning. It’s coconut water, coconut flesh and a little ice. It turns out like a creamy milkshake like texture when blended. Similarly, another favourite of mine is banana shake, a few bananas, dates and enough water to make a good consistency.

Nut milks and seed milks are nutritious and have health benefits that in my opinion, outweigh hose that are traditionally associated with dairy.
It is difficult when surrounded by dairy products, especially when they have direct habit and comfort links to childhood comforts and when these ‘free from’ and whole products are given a higher price tag. It doesn’t seem right or fair to me that a family should have to choose what could potentially be the more unhealthy option, just because of budget. How clever and convenient for the dairy industry bosses.

We have also been told public facts in marketing about dairy, regarding its calcium content being high, yet nothing about the risks of osteoporosis, anaemia and iron deficiencies.

I’m not telling people what to eat, I’m just giving my opinion, and the suggestion that, with a little research, alternatives can be found, even if they are once or twice a week. With this much information now at our fingertips, there is no need to make uninformed choices anymore. We are free to decide, without blindly accepting every piece of information fed to us by profit hungry multi million pound industries.

The implications of us eating less animal products would of course affect them the most, so they will try whatever they can to convince us otherwise.

This isn’t just milk from a cow in our back garden, it isn’t like that anymore. A cow should not produce milk in the quantities they do it is not natural.

Here is how milk is mass produced
Here is what is in the mass produced dairymilk we drink
Here is what milk can do to our bones
Here is some nut and seed milk info
Here is a link to plant based calcium sources
Here is an opinion on eating less animal products

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

